Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 198 – July 7

I have this strange allergy to many fruits, veggies and some nuts. What makes it strange is that I don’t have the reaction (itchy nose/throat, slight throat swelling) all the time, just sometimes. And if the offending food is cooked, then it’s all fine. So the following food have been known to cause issues: apples, grapes, avocado, watermelon, almonds, carrots, and I’m sure there are others that I’m forgetting since I haven’t eaten them in awhile. It’s a real bummer, cuz I rather like the aforementioned foods. Today, I found a grilled watermelon recipe that was very yummy AND I was able to eat it without the reaction. I’m pretty sure the cooking does something positive. I tried a piece of the watermelon uncooked . . . . . itchy throat. Once it was grilled . . .. no itchy throat. It’s weird, really.

But on to the recipe, as I remember it.

Slice up your watermelon.
Sprinkle salt on it, then set the pieces upright in a strainer over the sink or a bowl for 30 minutes.
Rinse the melon with cold water. (I’m honestly not sure why you’d have the melon drain and then get it wet again. But for once, I actually followed the recipe to a “t”!)
Gently squeeze out the excess water with a towel.
Brush the honey on to both sides. (I used a brush for the first few, but found that rubbing it around with my finger worked better since the honey got stuck to the brush.)
Place on the grill and cook until you have nice grill marks on both sides, about 5 minutes per side. (I used a Foreman Grill, and it took maybe 3ish minutes per side. Yes, I did flip it over as I found that the top side didn’t get grill marks while the bottom did.)
Sprinkle with salt and pepper.
Enjoy.

It was really quite good. My 5 year old LOVED them. The toddler, not so much. The 3 year old doesn’t believe in eating, so I have no idea what she thought. DH didn’t even bother trying them, but I knew he wouldn’t like them anyway. No matter, more for me and the 5 yo! They didn’t taste at all like watermelon, but they were good!

As an added bonus for today, I learned TWO things! So, I”m sharing them both. A while back, I found pinned this tip from Jessica at Me Sew Crazy for sewing knits. The tip is to use tissue paper under your fabric when sewing to keep your seam from getting all wavy. (Go to her post to see more pics.)

I tried this with one shirt last night, and I wasn’t particularly blown away. I did a little experiment (mostly because I ran out of tissue paper, but an experiment none-the-less.) I wanted to see if the paper really did make a difference. As you can see in the pic, the result was the same with and without the tissue paper.

You can't tell where I did and did not use the tissue paper.  (Tissue paper used on the left.)

I’m thinking that your technique is less important than the machine you use. I was using my Necchi Supernova Ultra (LOVE this machine). I’ve noticed that I can sew on this machine without needing a walking foot, whereas my other machines don’t work as well for keeping the fabric perfectly aligned. I’ll need to try this again on one of the other machines to see what happens. Although, I’m not sure it’s worth it. Theoretically, you should be able to just tear the tissue paper away. Well, you can see all the little bits of paper that were left over after tearing away.

I’m sure they’ll come out in the wash, but then I’m going to have little bits of paper all over my clothing. To be honest, I’m not sure I’ll use this technique in the future. It might just be easier to use the Necchi SNU instead. But, if your seams get all wavy, it might be worth it to try it out.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 198 – July 7

  1. Lita on said:

    Grill watermelon? yea maybe I can try that since I am not able to enjoy it fresh; I love watermelon but my body doesn’t. thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 381 other followers

