Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Learning

It occurred to me that to truly learn something, you need to be able to do it more than once.  So if I say that I’ve learned to do a tailor’s tack, I need to be able to do it every single time, without any major problems.  This makes me think that I may not be posting anything for the first few days since I’ll need to actually verify that I’ve learned something.  Eh, I’m probably making this more complicated than it really needs to be=)  What do you think?  How do you know if you’ve actually learned something?  Is it enough to just tuck it away, deep in your brain, never to be retrieved again?  Or should it be just at the forefront of your mind?

It also occurred to me that I may be biting off more than I can chew by expecting to learn 365 useful and interesting things this year.  It’s already 3pm on January 1st and I can’t really say that I’ve learned anything new.  Sure, I learned that someone I’ve known for almost 10 years took voice lessons for a long time.  I had no idea until today.  But, I can’t say that is a terribly useful piece of info . . .interesting . . . but not useful.  I think my goal for this project is to have useful bits of info added to my brain.  Who knows, I’m sure this whole thing will morph as the weeks and months go by.  Ah, the excitement!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

