Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 2 – January 2

It’s not even 9am and I’ve already accomplished my learning task for the day.  In fact, I’m enjoying it for breakfast.

Blackberry cream soda

It is deliciousness!  Meijer’s has blackberries on sale for 50 cents each container, which is VERY cheap!  I bought up 6 containers, and then thought, “Hmmm . . blackberry soda sounds good!”  (I was at the store to buy beverages since I was VERY thirsty.)  I picked up a bottle of carbonated water, headed home and hit the internet to find a recipe.

The first step was to make the blackberry syrup:

1.5 cups of sugar
2 cups of berries
1 cups of water

Place everything in a saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring occassionally.
Once it boils, reduce the heat to medium low and simmer for 5 minutes.
Remove from heat and let it steep for 15 minutes.
Push the mixture through a strainer (Make sure you have something underneath the strainer to catch the juice. Yep, I dumped part of the syrup down the drain!)
Place in a clean container and refrigerate.

The next step was to mix up the drink.

1/2 cup of berry syrup
1/4 cup cold heavy cream
1 cup club soda

Pour into a tall glass, stir and enjoy!

So my epiphany for today was that I should use my Pinterest boards for learning inspiration. I have gobs of things pinned, all things that are interesting to me . . .. recipes, clothing, kiddie projects . . . . might as well tap into that resource!

Here are the links for the blackberry goodness:

Cream soda

Source: chow.com via Judy on Pinterest

Syrup

Source: chow.com via Judy on Pinterest

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 2 – January 2

  1. Mmmmm Yum Yum!

Leave a Reply

