Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 4 – January 4

I woke up today at 6:30.  Correction . . . I was woken up at 6:30.  I didn’t make it back into bed until around 12:30am, so I had a good long time to learn today.  And yet, the only thing I learned is really nothing . ..  how to make panko.   So what is panko?  It’s a Japanese style bread crumb, which is supposed to be much crispier than our version.  The directions I found said to whiz up some bread in a food processor, bake it for 6-8 minutes in a 300 degree oven, shaking every few minutes so as to not let the bread get brown.  Sounds easy enough, right?  As I’m doing more reading about it today (the 5th), I’m realizing that the original info I found on making panko wasn’t quite right.  The key to good panko (according to Wikipedia) is to use a crustless bread, and by crustless I don’t mean to just cut off the crust.  There’s a particular way of baking the bread that yields a crustless loaf.

Anyway, so as far as I’m concerned, yesterday’s learning was a total bust.  Hoping for better luck today!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 4 – January 4

  1. Good luck sweetie!

Leave a Reply

