Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 7 – January 7

This morning, I woke up and started working on finishing a fleece jacket.  The only thing left to do was make the buttonholes and sew on the buttons.   I was sort of dreading it because I knew there would be guesswork involved in figuring out the appropriate length for the buttonhole.  Too small and the button won’t go through.  Too big and the button just falls out and it looks bad.  Rather than go through lots of trial and error, I sat down with my sewing books and decided to figure this out once and for all.  I was quite pleased to discover that once you know the formula, it’s quite easy to determine the buttonhole size.  The basic premise:  measure the diameter and add ease.  But how much ease?  Here ya go:

For a flat button:  add 1/8 inch ease.

For a shank button:  measure the height of the button, use this as your ease

For a round button:  measure the circumference, then and 1/8 inch ease.

Easy peasy, right? =)

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 7 – January 7

  1. bmweed on said:

    Good to know!
    *jots this down for future reference*
    That’ll be handy when I make my shirts this month!

  2. Well done! Love you.

Leave a Reply

