Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 9 – January 9

In the past few months, I’ve gotten bitten with the baking bug.  We bake lots of bread and other goodies around here.  I decided to try my hand at biscuits yesterday.  I always just guy them from the grocery store. Not sure why I haven’t done this before, it was really quite simple.

2 cups all-purpose flour
4 tsp baking powder
3 tsp sugar
1/2 t salt

Combine these in a bowl

1/2 cup shortening

Cut the shortening into the dry mixture until you have course crumbles

2/3 cup milk
1 egg

In a separate bowl, whisk the egg and milk together.
Add to the dry mixture and mix until just moistened.
Turn the dough out onto a well-floured surface. I mean REALLY well. I used about 1/2 cup of flour, plus a bunch on my hands.
Knead the dough about 20 times. It’s going to be a sticky mess for most of this process, just keep kneading. By the end, it will all come together nicely.
Flatten the dough (you can roll it or just pat it down like I did) to about 3/4 inch thickness. Use a biscuit cutter to cut out your biscuits.
Place on a lightly greased cookie sheet.
Bake in 450 degree oven for 8-10 minutes, until golden brown.

Now, to be fair, I should tell you that this recipe produced a remarkably bland biscuit, rather disappointing. But, I’m not ready to throw in the towel just yet. I’ll be trying again using more baking powder, more sugar, butter instead of shortening and probably adding an herb or two. Oh, and more salt would probably also have made a difference.

Do you have a favorite biscuit recipe?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

