Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 12 – January 12

Today I’ve got nothing.  Zippo.  Zilch.  Nada.  Well, nothing new, that is.   My original goal was to learn something new every day.  As I posted earlier, it occurred to me that just because you experienced something new doesn’t mean that it was internalized into your brain enough to be considered “learned”.  So far, I’m pretty confident that the learning of the past 11 days has actually stuck in my brain.  So, that’s good.

Today, nothing new of note entered by brain.  I did, however, realize that after 10+ years of driving in the snow, I’ve finally learned what to do in a skid.  We had our first messy roadways a few weeks ago, and I had to call DH to remind me, “Now which way am I supposed to turn the wheel?”  This is a yearly conversation for us . . . clearly, the information had never been internalized.  This year was different.  I went out yesterday, and the roads were a mess again.  I was about to call DH for another refresher but decided to dig deep into my mind to find the answer, and find it I did.  So, I guess it’s safe to say that I’ve finally learned that when you are skidding, turn your steering wheel in the direction that the BACK of your vehicle is going.  For example, you are turning left, and you start skidding towards the right.  That means that your front wheels have lost traction and are now just sliding.  You want them to regain traction and the only way to do that is to get them pointing in the direction that you are sliding.  In this case, you’d turn your steering wheel towards the right.

Clear as mud, right?  No wonder it’s taken me years to get this sorted out in my brain!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

