Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 16 – January 16

My lesson for today was life-changing. Okay, that’s an exaggeration. It’s more like it was sewing-life-changing. In the course of a day, I’ll thread a needle at least once, and if the babes are in my sewing studio, several times. Usually it goes well. Sometimes, it takes forever. . . . . wetting the thread, clipping the fuzzies, trying again and again. Annoying.

Enter: the sewing-life-changing tip. Instead of wetting the thread, moisten the eye of the needle. I read this and thought, “What?!” Well, I tried it . . . magic! I was able to thread a serger needle on the first try. (If you’ve ever threaded a serger, you know this is HUGE!) As best as I can tell, the moisture on the needle acts as a magnet of sorts. The thread sticks to the moisture, thus making it easier to thread the needle. Try it, it really is magic!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 16 – January 16

  1. I will try it next time. Thanks for the tip.

  2. bmweed on said:

    Pro-tip!

Leave a Reply

