Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 18 – January 18

My mom was my first and only sewing instructor. She taught me how to sew by hand, and I sewed all sorts of things that way for years. When I first started using a sewing machine, I thought, “No more hand sewing for me!” But the truth of the matter is that there are times when a sewing machine just won’t cut the butter and you have to break out the hand sewing needles.

Yesterday I was working on finishing up my DIY dress forms and needed to close things up. I thought about using the first stitch I learned, which was a slip stitch. But then I remembered seeing a bunch of other hand stitches in one of my sewing books, so I thought I’d try to learn something new!

I found a stitch called an overhand stitch, which seemed like it would work really well. Then I saw a whip stitch, which I already knew how to do and is quite similar to the overhand stitch. The only difference being the angle of the needle. In the end, I decided that the slip stitch would work best for my purposes. But, I did learn about the cover stitch and saw many other hand hemming stitches that I’ll be revisiting in the future.

Here are a few vids of the stitches:

Slip stitch

Whip stitch

Overhand stitch

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 18 – January 18

  1. Ahhhh, another person that enjoys sewing! Yay!

  2. That is pretty cool! My mom also thought me how to hand stitch.

Leave a Reply

