Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 22 – January 22

Today I had a parenting epiphany. Kids, at least mine, eat more at a restaurant when the food is cheaper.

Let’s me honest . .. eating out with small children is really a PITB and it can be expensive. Kids waste so much food, especially little kids, who are particular about what they eat, how they eat it, and what the surrounds need to be like in order for them to eat. I remember as a kid, my dad would get so frustrated at restaurants, “You kids waste so much food and money! It’s ridiculous!” I was maybe 7 or 8, and remember thinking it really wasn’t a big deal. Now that I’m older (and wiser), I get it. It’s supremely annoying to buy a meal for your child, and then have them eat like one bite. DH and I often wonder why we bother buying them food!

Several nights ago we went to an Asian restaurant. The kids menu prices were $7. Seriously!!!! SEVEN bucks for a kids meal? I get that it was a nice-ish restuarant, but as and adult, I could get an entree for less than the kids menu. Totally ridiculous if you ask me! Anyway, we decided to order one adult menu for the 3 little ones. The toddler threw half of his noodles on the floor proclaiming “Mess! Mess!”. The preschoolers ate some, but there was still a fair amount of food left over. Fast forward a few days, and we were eating at Bob Evans, where their kids menu items were $2.50 or less. Now THAT’S what I’m talking about! I took a gamble and ordered one thing for each child. The gamble paid off. So when we ended up at Bob Evans again today, I went ahead and ordered something for each child. This time, both of the preschoolers ate ALL of their pancakes, plus their side dish AND a drink. The toddler didn’t eat as much, but in his defense, he had already nurse and had a large cup of chocolate milk. He was pretty much ready to float away, so he only ate one wedge of his sandwhich.

So the lesson gleaned from this experience: restaurants with more reasonably priced kids’ menus see less waste. Okay, so that’s a huge generalization. But, for my family, that seems to ring true.

Do you have small ids? What’s your experience been with eating out?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

