Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 24 – January 24

Ingredient substitutions are seen quite frequently in my kitchen. I get partway through a recipe and realize that I’m missing some key ingredient. Sometimes substitutions are easy: cottage cheese for ricotta, or plain yogurt for ricotta or cottage cheese. Other times, I have no clue. So, I consult one of three handy substitution charts.

Today, I was making cream scones to go with the soup. Horrors .. . . no cream. (See what I mean about missing a key ingredient?) After checking my chart, I decided to go with evaporated milk. Yes, it IS weird that I had evaporated milk on hand and no cream. For some reason, I had about a cup left over in the fridge.

Generally, the substitutions work really well, and I don’t even notice the difference. For example, baked goods turn out the same whether I use real butter or the more healthy alternative. The taste and texture are pretty much the same. This time, the taste was pretty much the same. The texture, on the other hand was quite different with the evaporated milk. The scones were holey, for lack of a better term. Rather than being solid in the center, they had tons of tiny little holes. It kind of reminded me of that new aerated chocolate bar. It was weird. I’m thinking that next time, I’ll stick to using the full fat cream!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

