Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 35 – February 4

I’ve been getting these past few posts up late!  Life has gotten in the way, I guess.  In any case, today’s lesson was a good one. . . . . I found the perfect recipe for pancakes.  I’ve always been terrible at making pancakes, either undercooking them or burning them to a crisp.  In the past 5-7 months, I’ve gotten much better at producing a decent pancake, but haven’t always had delicious results through no fault of my own.  (You may remember these pancakes.)  I like to make something special for breakfast on Sabbath, so I decided to try another pancake recipe.  Apple pancakes sounded interesting, so I tried them.  We are all so glad that I did!

a)  They use stiffened egg whites, so they are nice and fluffy.

b)  They cook up nice and golden.

c)  They have apples in them!

d)  They were very yummy.  My 4.5 year old ate three pancakes and the 3 year old at FOUR!  I’d say that was a winner.  This recipe is a keeper.

Taken from my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook

Apple Pancakes

2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
2 T sugar
4 t baking powder
1 t salt
2 well-beaten egg yolks
2 cups milk
2 T butter, melted
1 cup finely chopped apple
2 stiffly beaten egg whites

Sift together dry ingredients. Combine egg yolks and milk. Pour into dry ingredients: stir well. Stir in butter and apple. Fold in egg whites. Let batter stand a few minutes.

Cook on hot griddle (or a frying pan, which is what I used). Dot with butter; sprinkle with confectioners’ sugar; roll up. Makes 12

We didn’t do the butter dotting through rolling steps, but I imagine that would have made them even yummier. A little tip, set your oven to 200 F and place the finished pancakes on cookie sheet. This will keep them warm until you are ready to eat them.

Enjoy!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

