Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 39 – February 9

Today’s lesson was a quick and easy one. I learned the difference between finishing and encasing a hem with banding and with binding. As I was reading the directions, I kept thinking, “Man, these seem like they are exactly the same!” But then it hit me, a banding adds length while the binding simply encases the hem. So think about a pair of pants that has gotten too short. Add a hem band (think of it like a waistband for the hem) and voila, extra length. In contrast, the binding adds no length at all. Think of a quilt and how it’s bound. You add the bias tape so that it is flush with the edge of the blanket. Same principle applies to the hems. Now, I’m not sure why you’d want to just do bias tape on a hem, but it’s an option!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

