Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 40 – February 9

I always thought that it was fairly easy to get a credit card here in this country, given the huge amount of credit card offers that “grace” my mailbox on a weekly basis. Apparently, this isn’t the case for all people. I just learned to day that good credit ratings don’t transfer from one country to another. So let’s say you’ve just moved here from Sweden and had great credit there. Oh well . . too bad for you! As far as the US is concerned, you are a beginner with no credit history and you have to establish yourself. Seems silly to me!

I actually don’t know if this is true for all foreigners. I’m basing my assumptions on the comments of a mom I met at a playdate today. She and her family moved here from Canada several months ago, and they are not yet able to get any credit cards nor get credit to buy anything else. So they are having to purchase everything with cash. I can’t say that’s all together a bad thing. But, I was surprised that their excellent Canadian credit history was totally worthless. Weird!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

