Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 41 – February 10

Truffles are an amazing little confection . . . delish!  When I found a recipe for dip that included truffle oil, I was intrigued and wondered why you’d want a vegetable dip to have the flavor of truffles.  I dug around to see what I could find out about truffle oil.  All of the places I looked said that truffle oil was made out of truffles and was used in cooking to add a hint of truffle flavor to the food.  I couldn’t figure out why you wouldn’t just add chocolate or almond or what ever other flavor you would normally use for a truffle rather than using truffle oil.    Still curious, I thought I’d give the recipe a try.  Of course, I had no truffle oil, so I went in search of how to make it or for a substitution.  That’s when I happened upon this description:  truffle oil has a mushroom flavor.

Uh, what?  I don’t know about you, but I’ve never had mushroom flavored truffles!  That’s when I realized that I was likely thinking of the wrong kind of truffle.  Sure enough, truffles are part of a mushroom . . . who knew!  Now I’m curious to try truffle oil.  I likely won’t, because I’m going to go ahead and assume that it’s expensive.

And in case you are curious, this is the recipe that got me started on all of this.  The sweet potatoes, by the way, were delicious!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

