Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 47 – February 16

I’ve had this recipe for make-ahead burritos pinned for a long time and have been wanting to try it out. For some reason, I got the bee in my bonnet to do it today, so I did. I made a fair amount of changes. The rest of the family doesn’t eat meat, so instead I sauteed up some veggies (carrots, zucchini, onion) and tossed in a packet of Goya seasoning. I scrambled the eggs in my own way, I made migas. (Migas – scramble the eggs, just before they are set add cheese, salsa and crushed tortilla chips.) The potatoes were a total experiment. I wanted to use my Kitchen Aid shredder/slicer attachment since it was out and I’d already been using it for other parts of the meal. Dicing isn’t on it’s list of tricks so that was out. I thought about hash browns, but didn’t want to have to boil the potatoes before cooking them. So, I made hash browns, without cooking the taters first. =) It took about 15 minutes and I had to be constantly stirring to keep them from totally sticking to the bottom of the pan, and they weren’t really brown or fried, per se. But they more or less turned out.

It took me about two burritos to get into the flow of how to fold them. Her directions are different from how I fold tortillas for enchiladas . . . my brain had issues with the switch. But once I got it, the assembly was super quick. I haven’t eaten one, as a burrito, but I did taste the combination of ingredients (minus the tortilla) . . . these burritos are going to rock my world! I’m saving them for that “Blech! It’s 5:30 and I have no energy to make dinner” time. So, I’m sure I’ll be back sometime in the next few days with a follow-up review! =)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

