Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 51 – February 20

You may have noticed that my daily posts have been lacking for the past two days. Chalk that up to being sick, laying around doing nothing, hence, learning nothing new.

Today I learned about molar pregnancies. I’m continually amazed at the new things I learn about pregnancy, being a female and conception. I’m in my 30’s, have three children, and I”m still learning. I would’ve thought that I knew most things on this topic. Clearly, not. So a molar pregnancy is not a good thing, it’s an abnormality. It happens to about 1 in 1000 women, so not hugely common, but it does happen. The tissue that would normally develop into a fetus instead becomes a growth in the uterus. This can still trigger pregnancy symptoms and if you pee on a stick, you’ll get a positive result. But, there is no fetus. Molar pregnancies are discovered in routine ultrasounds in early pregnancy, through a blood test, or a pelvic exam. Because the tissue is a growth that is not supposed to be there, it’s really important that it be removed so as to not cause any problems to the mother.

Here are a few websites if you want to read more about it.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydatidiform_mole

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/molar-pregnancy/DS01155

http://www.webmd.com/baby/tc/molar-pregnancy-topic-overview

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

