Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 53 – February 22

We’ve had our pizza stone for about 7.5 years, and have used it a fair amount. Until today, I thought we were using it the right way, and always wondered why the pizza had a funny taste after using it. Well, I learned today that I’d been using it wrong all along.

My old method:

Get the pizza ready, set it on the stone, bake it, slice it, eat it, wash the stone with soap and water.

The new method:

Preheat the pizza stone in a VERY hot oven, around 500 degrees, for 45-60 minutes.
Place the pizza on the stone and bake, slice, eat.
Allow pizza stone to cool completely and then wipe with a damp cloth. If there are bits of cheese or anything stuck to it, use a spatula to scrape it off. If that doesn’t work, stick it in the oven again and they try to scrape it off.

I couldn’t have been more wrong! Washing it with soap and water was a BIG mistake. Apparently, the flavor of the soap will get embedded in to the stone and then into your pizza. (So THAT’S the funny flavor!) There was an obscene amount of smoke pouring out of the oven while I was using the stone today. I’m guessing that was all of the soap getting burnt off of the stone. The stone is now a nice toasted color, and from what I read, it’ll likely get to be pretty black with repeated use. But I get the feeling it’s like a cast-iron skillet: the more you use it (correctly, of course), the better it gets.

Now I’m wanting to make pizza every day for the next few weeks to test out my newly found knowledge. The babes would LOVE that menu, I’m sure. Alas, not exactly the healthiest menu, so I’ll have to be patient and spread my learning and experimentation out over a few weeks!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

