Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 75 – March 6

Strawberries are on mega sale right now. I’m not sure why, since strawberry season doesn’t peak for another few months. But anyway, we bought a whole bunch because really, we couldn’t resist. So what to do with all of these berries? The babes have been drinking blended strawberry milk every morning, but we still had a ton. Today, I decided to make a dessert. Originally I was going to make a pie, but laziness overtook me and I really didn’t feel like making a pie crust. Instead, I made a strawberry cake. I got the recipe from one of my favorite foodie blogs, smitten kitchen. It’s called Strawberry Summer Cake and it really was quite delish. In fact, we ate half of it at dessert time. Granted, we do have 5 people in our family, but I think half was probably more than we needed to eat. To be fair, we all had a slice, and then I remembered the whipped cream. So, clearly, we all had to have another slice!

The cake was SUPER easy to make and really quite good. Mine didn’t at all look like Deb’s cake. Her’s had strawberries visible on top, mine did not. Her strawberries still looked quite red, mine did not. Frankly, it just didn’t matter, it was still very yummy. I will say that it was not as good the second day, there was a funny, bitterish aftertaste. Fortunately, it’s good enough that you could easily devour it in one day!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

