Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 81 – March 12

Tonight I made cornbread pie. The recipe called for salsa. As luck would have it, DH finished off the last of the salsa at lunch. Fortunately, I have a handy food grinder attachment for my stand mixer, and I remembered seeing a recipe for salsa. I won’t say that the outcome was delicious, but it was definitely good, and worth further investigation. I’m pretty sure our days of store-bought salsa are gone.

Here’s what I did: (adapted quite freely from the Kitchen Aid manual

1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes
2 garlic cloves
2-3 miniature red bell peppers
1/2 can of diced chiles
1 medium onion
rice vinegar
2 t. salt
1/2 T. sugar
1 T parsley

Run the first 5 ingredients through the food grinder. (I’m sure you could probably do this in a food processor, as well). Add a few glugs of vinegar to taste. Mix in the salt, sugar and parsley. At this point, I realized that I had too much onion flavor, so I put it on the stove (bring to a boil, then simmer for 5-10 minutes) to cut down on the onion flavor. This did a really nice job of melding the flavors.

This recipe really leaves lots of room for changes. Use a different type of vinegar, or flavored tomatoes, or fresh tomatoes, or a different type of pepper (chipotle, serrano, scotch bonnet). . . . pretty much anything can be customized. Try it, it’s so easy you’ll wonder why you ever bought salsa before!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 81 – March 12

  1. I LOVE making homemade salsa. Some of my favorite additions are black beans, corn and cilantro. Cilantro in particular gives it such a great, fresh flavor. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

