Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 82 – March 13

We love macaroni and cheese at our house.  The boxed kind is okay, better when I doctor it up.  But I especially like making it from scratch, it’s really pretty simple.  Today, I hit on the jackpot recipe.  Let’s see if I can remember what I did!

6T butter
1/4-1/2 cup flour
4 cups milk (I used 3 cups whole and 1 cup fat free)
2 cups cheese, shredded (I used half Muenster and half Colby Jack)
4-6oz Velveeta cheese, cubed
1 pound pasta (any kind is fine, I happened to used medium shells this time)
salt and pepper, to taste

First, cook the pasta. You can add salt and olive oil to the water. I never do, haven’t noticed a big difference when I do! Once it’s al dente, drain the pasta.

Second, make the roux. Melt the butter over medium heat in a large saucepan. Then add the flour and mix for a minute or two. Add the milk. (Sometimes I add it all at once, and sometimes I add about 1/2 a cup, get the flour and butter well dissolved, then add the rest. I haven’t noticed a difference in the end result, so do what works for you.) Cook and stir until it’s thickened.

Now add the cheeses and stir until melted.

Place the drained pasta in a 3qt baking dish. Pour the cheesy mixture over top, making sure to get it in all the nooks and crannies.

Place in a 375 degree oven and bake for 20-25 minutes, until the cheese is bubbly.

I have no idea why this version turned out so good, but it was delish! Everyone ate a ton!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 82 – March 13

  1. Yum! Yum!

Leave a Reply

