Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 94 – March 25

I always thought that the notion of sour laundry was silly. I had often left a load of laundry in the washing machine for a few hours, or even an entire afternoon, and the laundry was no worse for the wear. Well, today I discovered that yes, you CAN have sour laundry.

When I walked into the laundry room this morning, I was almost bowled over by the stench. At first I thought, “Great, one of the kids forgot to flush down the brown!” Nope, empty toilet. Then I thought, “Must’ve been a seriously poopy diaper in the diaper pail. (No, I didn’t go searching!) Seemed like the best plan would be to just wash the dipes (and open a window to get some ventilation post haste. I opened the washing machine and holy cow, MEGA STENCH! Apparently, I’d totally forgotten about a load of towels that I had run on Friday afternoon. So they sat in the closed machine for a day and a half. And yes, they smelled really bad! I ran them with extra soap on the heavy duty cycle . . I wanted them extra clean. Merrily, the smell disappeared after only one wash.

So my lesson for today? Don’t let your laundry sit in the washing machine because sour laundry does indeed exist!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 94 – March 25

  1. Especialmente en lugares humedos.

Leave a Reply

