Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 97 – March 28

Every time I see the big, fat Southern-style biscuits on sale at Meijer’s, I buy them. Up until today, I’d tried LOTS of vegetarian gravy recipes, with only one turning out. The only thing I didn’t like about that recipe was that it needed to use veggie sausage, which is not cheap. So I’d been on the hunt for a good gravy recipe. I found that recipe today. I got it from allrecipes.com, but made a few modifications. It was a hit with everyone except for DD. But then she ended up eating a bunch of it at dinner, so I’m guessing she was just feeling recalcitrant at lunchtime=)

Vegetarian gravy, adapted from Allrecipes.com

yields 4.5 – 5 cups of gravy

2-4 T vegetable oil
1 medium onion, chopped
5 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 of a red or yellow bell pepper, chopped
4-6 mushrooms, chopped
1 cup all-purpose flour
5 tablespoons soy sauce
2 1/2 cups vegetable broth
1/2-3/4 cup heavy cream
3/4 – 1 cup whole milk
1/2 teaspoon dried sage
1/2 t dried marjoram
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

Sautee the onion, garlic and veggies in the vegetable oil until the onion is soft and translucent.
Add the flour and soy sauce, stirring to make a roux.
Add a 1/2 cup of the liquid (broth, milk, cream), stirring to incorporate into the roux. Once the lumps are all out, pour in the rest of the liquid in.
Stir in the herbs and pepper and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, stirring occasionally until the gravy has thickened.

You’ll want to play around with the salt amounts. I used McKay’s seasoning, which is woefully salty. In the future, I will use less of the seasoning. Between that and the soy sauce, it was too salty for my tastes. Err on the side of less salt, you can always add more once the sauce is done. I have yet to figure out a good way to get salt OUT of a food!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

