Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 105 – April 5

I’ve been carrying my babes in baby carriers for almost 5 years now. I’m pretty sure I’ve used every carrier known to man, or at least the ones I’ve been able to figure out how to make. As much as I like ring slings, meitais and soft structured carriers, wraps are my one true love. I have lots of wraps. Okay, not really that many. I know some people that have 30-40, I have about 10. But if you aren’t someone who uses baby carriers, that probably seems excessive, right? =)

Anyway, so today I discovered that I’m really not interested in the longer wraps (anything over 4.6 meters). This was a surprising revelation since my first wraps (stretchy wraps, similar to the Moby wrap) were long, probably 5 yards (4.6m). Maybe I’m getting to be an expert wrapper, so I can eek out carries with much shorter wraps. (This is quite likely). But more likely reason is that I’ve discovered modifications to carries that normally require longer wraps such that I can do them with a much shorter wrap.

We’ll see how this goes. Right now, I’m trying to sell my 5m Vatanai because I just never reach for it. I’m thinking my longest wrap will be 4.2m. Actually, I have a DIY that is probably 4.6m or more, but it wraps funny, so I don’t use it very often. I just traded my 3.2m Vat Carenero for a size 2 Neobulle Manon Grise. I sort of think that will be too short. But, given my new resolve against very long wraps, I figured I’d give the shortie wraps a try. Plus, the shorties are great for the toddler up and down stage.

So, no more long wraps in my future, for the time being.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 105 – April 5

  1. So many!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Do you have a favorite?

Leave a Reply

