Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 106 – April 6

I’m sure you’ve heard of making cakes in a mug. I’ve tried this a few times, and have been somewhat unimpressed with the results. For some reason, I tried it again tonight. The results were decent, definitely needed more sugar, but I think that’s because I used dark chocolate cocoa rather than the regular. I used a recipe from Chocolate Covered Katie’s blog and she calls it One-Minute Chocolate Cake.

I decided to cook the cakes in ramekins rather than in mugs. I did have to cook it longer than the 30-40 seconds. I went with one minute and that seemed to be just about right.

At the last minute (as in, everyone was sitting at the dinner table, ready to go), I decided to make some strawberry whipped cream. Basically, I whipped some whipping cream, added sugar, added pureed fresh strawberries and called it a day.

When dessert time rolled around, I realized that it would be woefully messy to try to put the whipping cream on the cake in the ramekins, so we dumped the cakes out into bowls and topped with whipping cream. Honestly, the whipping cream was better than the cake, but I think that’s because the cake lacked sugar (as I’d already mentioned).

I can’t say that this picture does it justice, but it’s been a LOOOONG time since I posted any pics on the blog . . .so here you go=)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

