Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 117 – April 17

I’ve been in a wrap churning mode the past three weeks. I started out with a Didy colorgrown ellipsen (LOVE that wrap, it’s staying here forever!), Vatanai Kalahari and Vatanai Carenero. Through various tradings and purchases, I’ve ended up with the colorgrown ellipsen, Viola ellipsen, Aida ellipsen, and an African kanga. (Didy Moss, Neobulle Manon Grise flew threw here, but didn’t stay long.) This post is about the kanga.

I’ve always been intrigued by the kanga, but never thought I’d get one. A mama on thebabywearer.com lived in Tanzania for 10 years, and collected quite a few kangas and kitenge for her future children. She very generously decided to trade or sell them to share the love with others. I quickly bought one and was chuffed when it arrived today. It’s quite long as it’s two panels. The idea is to cut it in half and share with a friend, or use half as a skirt and the other half as a carrier. I haven’t decided if I’m chopping it, but I did try it out in some typical non-African carries. In other words, I did a few carries that I would normally do with my woven wraps. I also tried it in the tradition African style. My first attempt was with my 30lb 3yo. I thought for sure it was going to be terribly uncomfortable. I had tried it before when she was about 6 months old, and it was not at all comfy. I was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable it was, especially given how thin the fabric was!

Anyway, you are probably wondering what my lesson was for today. I learned a new way to do the torso carry. Up until today, this is the method that I used.

Then I saw this method, which doesn’t tuck the fabric under the babe at all, yet strangely, it’s still very supportive. It’s a little hard to tell, but the fabric is folded up and the twisted bottom rails are then tucked into the fold.

I’m guessing there are several other variations as well. And I wonder if the kanga is ever used for a front carry? In any case, I think this is going to be the carrier that lives in the car this summer!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 117 – April 17

  1. Lita on said:

    Wow so many ways to wrap!

Leave a Reply

