Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 145 – May 15

If you don’t want to read about women’s underwear, you may want to go on ahead and skip this post.

..

..

..

..

..

..

Still here?

Okay, bra talk, coming right up.

Two years ago I made my own nursing bras because I couldn’t find a style that I liked. Part of that process involved sewing in bra cup (AKA – 3D piece) to a flat piece of fabric. I wouldn’t say it was a smashing success. It worked, okay, but it wasn’t great. I’d been wracking my brain trying to find a way to do this, but I kept coming up empty. Even my searches online came up with nothing. That is, until today. I found this tutorial on daughterfish.com. How to sew a built-in bra with cups. It was exactly what I had been looking for! And I found it at the perfect time. I’d been working on the halter top version of this McCalls pattern. The one hang up was how to insert a bra into the actual top. I bumped into the tute the day I was ready to start cutting fabric for the top. Sweet!

So I followed the directions, slightly modified since I was working with a halter top instead of a tank top. It worked! I was very pleased with how it turned out. I wouldn’t say my bra-buying days are over, but I have ALOT more options available to me now! Yeah!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

