Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 151 – May 21

This week, I’ve decided to try out all new recipes, and I wanted to try things that were different from what I normally make. Today, I made veggie spring rolls. I love these, but it’s often hard to find spring rolls without meat. I was pretty happy to pin this recipe that looked relatively easy. I couldn’t figure out a quick way to slice the carrots so that they’d look like the picture, so I just used the peeler and peeled the carrots. It worked pretty well.

The recipe really came together pretty easily. It took a bit of time to fry everything in three batches, but it wasn’t too bad. The result? They were decent. Next time, I’ll put quite a bit more seasoning in the veggies. Probably some fresh ginger, more salt and pepper and maybe a few other things. I’ll also use more sauce when I’m rolling the spring rolls. The one thing I didn’t like was the wrappers that I used. They had a funny flavor, which was disappointing. I’m not ready to give up on the recipe yet, though. (Even though it was a total flop with the babes, DH and I liked them well enough.) Maybe next time I’ll go to the Asian market to get better wrappers!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

