Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 171 – June 10

Today I learned about “filling your bra.” I’m guessing it’s not what you are thinking . . . .it has nothing to do with drag queens needing some “help”. I learned it in the context of using a ring sling. Confused yet?

A southern mama from Alabama posted a video showing a few tips on how to get a good seat for your baby in a ring sling. Her method was the “fill you bra” method. She basically put the baby in, leaned over (this is the filling your bra part), then finished up the carry. Even after watching the vid (which you can find in her blog post here), I was still thinking that the “fill your bra” referred to actually stuffing your bra with socks, TP, whatever. I couldn’t figure out why you’d have to lean over to do that.

Well, I was educated in a thread over one thebabywearer.com (TBW). Apparently, it’s not about stuffing things into the bra, it’s about making sure the girls are well seated, shall we say, in the cups. The leaning over bit makes sure everything is where it’s supposed to be. Who the heck knew! I’ve been bra-wearing for over 20 years and I’ve never heard of that. I know I’m not the only one, because a whole slew of other moms on (TBW) were like, “Oh, THAT’S what you meant!”

So there you have it, now you, too know what it means to “fill your bra”. Do ya feel enlightened? =)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

