Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 177 – June16

Sometimes I think I should have titled this blog “try something new 365”, since I’m not necessarily learning something new each time, just trying out new things. Oh well, it would be silly to change it now, right?

About 3 years ago, I found a recipe for Black Bean Lasagna at a kiosk at a Bloom grocery store. It is one of our favorites and everyone that tries it thinks it great. I realized I hadn’t made it in a while, so I decided to make some for Sabbath lunch. Horror of horrors, I couldn’t find the recipe! No matter, I figured I could find something on the internet. I found several candidates, and they all were similar, so I just picked this one from taste of home.

I’ll just cut to the chase and be blunt. Not good at all! I was so very disappointed as I was really hoping it would be as delicious as the other recipe I had. It was just very bland, the sauce had no flavor at all, and I even added a handful of Oregano to help it out. I think the two cans of tomato paste did nothing to add to the flavor. DH, of course, thought it was fine, as did the babes. I was sorely disppointed. Sometimes I’m willing to give a recipe another change and change things, this is not one of those time.

After the fact, I did a search for “black bean lasagna” and “wisconsin cheese” since I remembered that the recipe was sponsored by the Wisconsin Cheese people. I found this one which looks remarkably similar to my original recipe. I’m a little nervous to try it out, but maybe in a few weeks I’ll give it a go.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

