Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 181 – June 20

Summertime is the perfect time for having kiddie pools. Up until now, we’ve had the very small pools. We started out with something like this, and then branched out to this . But really, those were all too small for the 5 and 3 year olds. So this summer, I bought a larger pool, one that holds about 300-350 gallons of water. I wanted to keep the water from being gross, so I called a pool store. The guy was like, “Yeah, well, that’s only like 30 cents of water, just refill it every day.” Uh, is HE going to pay me 30 cents every day for the whole summer and come to my house and go through the giant PITB that is emptying and refilling the pool? I don’t think so. Needless to say, that conversation ended abruptly.

I did a bit of searching online, and discovered that the best way to keep a kiddie pool clean was just to shock it with a chlorine treatment every now and then. I’d seen some chlorine treatment at the store yesterday, but it was like $25 for a BIG bucket and we certainly wouldn’t use it all this summer. Fortunately, this website suggested using regular chlorine bleach. You use 1/4 tsp for every 10 gallons of water. That, coupled with a pool cover will cut down on the number of times you’ll have to empty and refill the pool. I’ve not tried this yet, but I’m going to give it a whirl and see how it goes. I’m hoping it works, cuz emptying out 350 gallons of water was a giant pain. The babes had fun throwing buckets full of water all over the lawn and themselves, but it was still a giant pain!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

