Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 196 & 197 – July 5 & 6

Day 196 – Several weeks ago, I found some lovely fabric at an estate sale. Unfortunately, it had been in the musty basement for years, so it was smelly. I washed it in hot water (even though it was delicate fabric), in hopes of killing whatever was there. No luck. I had read in a book long ago that putting delicate fabrics in the freezer was a good way to kill any gross stuff that might still be lingering. So, I stuffed each of the three cuts into ziploc bags and stuck them in the freezer for a few weeks, promptly forgetting about them.

I opened the freezer today to take out some pie dough, and saw the fabric. I figured 3-4 weeks was probably enough. I took them out and gave ’em the old sniff test . . . no more musty smell, just freezer burn (which is a whole other problem, I guess.) Ran them through the wash, and now they are as good as new! Now, to think of what to make with the pretty fabric!

Day 197 – Ever since returning from our longish vacation, I haven’t really been in the mood to cook. Plus, it’s been insanely hot (over 100 degrees), so heating up the house with the stove/oven wasn’t all that appealing. I decided to try out a summer squash recipe I’d seen on the blog delish.

Here’s the recipe as I made it.

1 small onion, diced
3 garlic cloves, crushed
1 yellow squash, halved and sliced
1 zucchini, halved and sliced
2 medium tomatoes, chopped
1 can of white beans (cannellini, butter, etc), drained and rinsed
small handful of dried oregano
salt and pepper to taste
2 glugs of red wine vinegar

In a large pan, saute the onion and garlic until tender, 2-4 minutes. Add the squash, cover and reduce heat to low. Cook, stirring once, until veggies are crisp-tender.

Add tomatoes and beans and cook, uncovered for a few minutes. Add the oregano, salt, pepper and vinegar and cook until heated through.

Sever over rice or pasta.

The original recipe called for fresh parmesan. I didn’t have any, but the recipe was still yummy without it.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 196 & 197 – July 5 & 6

  1. Lita on said:

    Have you decided what to make?
    Yam Yam!

Leave a Reply

