Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 199 – July 8

Fasten your seatbelts, folks. Today, I learned how to do many things!

Let’s start with the food. I recently pinned this recipe from Deb at smitten kitchen for chocolate swirl buns. Since I was making bread today anyway, I figured I’d whip these up as well. Holy cow! They are delish! I can only imagine how they would taste accompanies with some berries. Yummo! I use a slightly different method for making bread, so I pretty much just used the recipe for the ingredients and ignored the directions on how to make the dough. Basically, I mix the dry ingredients and heat the liquid plus butter in the micro until it’s about 120 degrees. I add that plus the egg to the dry ingredients, then mix for a couple of minutes. Then I switch to the dough hook and let the machine knead away. That seems to work better for me than setting the yeast aside to let it get foamy. Frankly, I’m just not that patient!

Anyway, they were super easy to make and so very yummy! Oh, the other change I made: the chocolate goo was too clumpy and wasn’t spreading. First I added a bit of milk, but that didn’t help. I ended up putting the mix in the micro for about 15 seconds, and then it spread like a dream! Excuse me while I go get another roll=)

Another idea that I recently pinned was a little bath helper thing. It’s basically foam covered with a shower curtain that has pockets in it and it’s goal is to make bath time more comfortable for the parent’s knees. I really didn’t follow the tutorial at all, it was simply an inspiration. Poor DH’s knees take a beating since he’s the bath-giver in our family. In addition, our bath mat ends up soaking wet . . . .yuck. Soo, I think this little thing will help stop that. It was super easy to make and I would’ve had it done in 15 minutes if I wouldn’t have messed up! I put a magnetic strip in at the top to hold it to the bathtub. Either the bathtub isn’t metal, or the magnet doesn’t work, or both. In any case, I’ll have to come up with another solution. But for now, I think DH’s knees will be MUCH happier!

Several months ago I saw this pin for carseat coolers. As with most of my pins, I pinned it and then promptly forgot about it . . . . until it popped up again and I thought, “Oh, what a great idea!”, only to find that I’d already pinned it! (How’d you like my run-on sentence! ha!) Anyway, given the insanely hot weather as of late, I decided I needed to make some for the babes, today. I’m sure this comes as no surprise . . . I didn’t follow the tutorial. It’s a good tute, I just wanted to do mine a little different. After thinking for a bit, I came up with something that works quite well and was pretty easy to make. I’ll probably whip up a few more and put them in my etsy shop, hopefully by the end of the week.

So there you have it . . . .THREE new things today. Shocking, right? I actually have a bunch of little sewing projects that I want to work on over the next few days, so I’m thinking my posts will be mostly about sewing, with a bit of food sprinkled here and there!

Happy week, everyone!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 199 – July 8

  1. Lita on said:

    Awesome!

Leave a Reply

