Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 201 – July 10

Orange creamsicle smoothie . . . . doesn’t that sound just yummy? I was making smoothies for the babes today, and thought I’d give this a try since I’d recently pinned the recipe. Upon looking at the recipe, I realized that I only had one ingredient necessary: the vanilla. No matter, adapt and improvise! Here’s what I did:

5 oranges
1/2-3/4 cup of skim milk (that’s what I had on hand)
1/2-1 cup of plain whole milk yogurt
a glug of vanilla
1 cup of sugar
1 banana

-juice the oranges and dump the juice into a blender. Include the pulp if you’d like.
-Dump in the rest of the ingredients.
-Blend
If you want a thicker mix, add a bunch of ice.

This made 6-8 8oz cup servigs.

That’s it! Mega easy and oh, so yummy! Everyone gobbled it up at lunch today and wanted more! I was pretty pleased since the babes never really eat oranges all that well. Maybe it’s the texture? Who knows. Anyway, they loved this, so I’m getting more oranges at the store today and putting it in the snack rotation.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 201 – July 10

  1. Lita on said:

    How with it be reducing the amount of sugar?

  2. I probably wouldn’t reduce the sugar very much. Remember that it’s plain yogurt. Oops, forgot to put that in the recipe. . . I’ll go change it. Anyway, so you’ll need the extra sugar because of the plain yogurt.

Leave a Reply

