Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 203 – July 12

Stawberry sherbet was the name of the game today. I had bought some strawberries on sale at the store. I’m pretty sure they were on sale because they were getting ready to spoil. I opened up the fridge today and there was a VERY strong strawberry smell. I knew I needed to do something with them and quick! A little Google search brought up this recipe from allrecipes for strawberry sorbet. Since I made mega unhealthy ice cream yesterday, I figured sorbet was more my speed for today.

I’ve made sorbet before, and it ends up being not very smooth and sort of chunky and icy. Not this one! It’s so thick and smooth, like ice cream but without the milk! I’m really quite impressed. And, it was so, so easy. I won’t, however, be eating any of the sorbet. The stawberries were too ripe for my taste, and the sorbet is too strong for me and my crazy sensitive upchuck reflex. Hopefully, the rest of the fam will love it!

I also tried out the ice cream today and decided to make homemade chocolate syrup to go on top. The recipe came from the blog One Good Thing by Jillee and it’s on my sauces Pinterest board. Since I actually followed the recipe fairly closely, I’m not going to reprint my version here=)

The verdict? Yummy! One caveat . . . . you really need to watch the pot, otherwise you’ll end up cleaning delicious chocolate syrup out of every nook and cranny in your stove like me. Not fun!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

