Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 219 – July 28

Today my learning wasn’t something new. It was something I “learned” about two years ago, but apparently I didn’t actually learn it because I could do it about two weeks ago. “It” was using a narrow hemmer foot. I can use all of the other hemmer feet and LOVE them. The narrow one works a bit differently, at least the way you insert the fabric is a bit different. I had figured it out two years ago and thought it was amazing. But when I went to do it a few weeks back . . . big. fat. fail!

Fortunately, I remembered a video I had seen on the blog Brian Sews that showed how to use the narrow hemmer foot. I pinned it to make sure I wouldn’t lose it again. I sat down and watched it again, and I was able to get it to work. I’m not going to lie, it was not easy. The fabric kept slipping out, or I wouldn’t get it fed through far enough for the feed dogs to pick it up. Then I ran out of bobbin thread so I had to get everything set up again. Honestly, I’m not sure it was faster to use the attachment, but with practice, it will definitely be an amazing little tool.

If you are wondering what kind of a hem it does, here’s a pic. It’s very narrow, like an 1/8 of an inch.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

