Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 238 – August 11

I’ve been on vacation this week . . .hence, the lack of learning. We are staying in a timeshare, so I thought I would ry out a little cobble recipe that I’d spotted on Pinterest. For some reason I didn’t actually Pin it, but the recipe was super easy:

2 packages of frozen berries
1 box of cake mix
1 can of clear soda (Sierra Mist, 7-up, etc.)

Place the berries in a 9×11 dish.
Pour the cake mix over the top.
Slowly pour the can of soda over the cake mix.
Bake in a 350 oven for 35-40 minutes.

Sounds simple, right? Well, it WAS simple, but it wasn’t very good. At least I didn’t think it was good. For one, one can of soda didn’t seem to be enough to cover all of the cake mix, so I ended up with little spots of dry cake mix. For two, it still tasted like dry cake mix over fruit . . . not exactly thrilling if you ask me!

You can see the bits of dry cake mix here.

The babes and DH ate it, and DH ended up finishing it up for dinner, so it can’t have been terrible. But, I don’t think I’ll be making this again. Really, it’s just as easy to make real cobbler from scratch.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

