Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 246 – August 19

Well, we are back from vacay, so I’m hoping to get back on the “daily” blogging bandwagon!

Chocolate and raspberry are about the best combination out there. Pretty much, give me chocolate raspberry anything and I’ll be a happy camper. Soo, when I saw this recipe for Raspberry Dark Chocolate Banana Bread pop up on Pinterest, you KNOW I had to try it out!

Happily for me, Meijer’s had some raspberries that were on their last leg, so they were on clearance. I picked up some Ghiradelli bittersweet chocolate chips, and we already had some mega ripe and mushy bananas in the fridge. Most banana breads are super easy to make and this was no exception.

The smell coming from the oven was glorious and I couldn’t wait to try it out. . . . . . The verdict . . .. . not as delicious as other chocolate raspberry combos I’ve had. Maybe the bananas needed to be sweeter . . .maybe it needed more sugar . . .either way, it wasn’t terribly sweet. I also would have liked to have more chocolate and less moisture in the bread. I think the fresh raspberries made it super moist, not really a texture I like in my banana bread. I suppose I could have cooked it longer, but then the top would have been REALLY brown. I’ll probably try the recipe again using frozen fruit, or maybe cutting the fruit up smaller, and using more chocolate! But as my mom is wont to say, “It’s edible!” =)

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 246 – August 19

  1. I am pinning this! It looks delicious! I made a really yummy greek yogurt strawberry bread that got to be pretty popular on pinterest…you should check it out! http://azcubed.wordpress.com/2012/06/08/strawberry-banana-bread/

Leave a Reply

