Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 249 – August 22

New foods was the name of the game today. For some reason, I had a bunch of new recipes to try out.

First up: Camp Corn Salad from the blog The Mother Huddle The kids really love corn, and it looked like a nice and refreshing salad that was easy to make. So, I gave it a whirl. I was in a hurry, so I took a few shortcuts and made a few changes:

After cooking the corn, I dumped it in a bowl of ice water to quickly cool it down.
Once everything was mixed, I stuck the bowl of salad in the freezer for about 10 minutes to cool it down. Hey, I didn’t have 2 hours to let it sit in the fridge!
I added some freshly ground black pepper and because I had it on hand, some fresh thyme.
A yellow bell pepper was the stand in for the green bell pepper.

All in all, it was pretty yummy. I have no idea what the babes thought . . .. they didn’t appear to be all that hungry at lunch today! But, DH thought it was great, as did I. I’m now trying to think of what protein I could add in so that it could be a stand alone meal.

Next up: Pasta with Tofu and Peanut Sauce

Adapted from BH&G “Pasta – cooking for today”

1 lb angel hair pasta
28 oz broth (28 oz water plus 4t McKay’s Seasoning)
4T water
4T soy sauce
2T cornstarch
1/2t cayenne pepper
1 cup smooth peanut butter
2T olive oil
2 medium onions, halved lengthwise and thinly sliced
6 cloves garlic, minced
2t grated gingerroot
1 package tofu, wrapped in paper towels to absorb the water, then cubed
1-2t salt
1/2-1t black pepper
1t marjoram
1/2 t garlic powder
1T olive oil

Preheat oven to 400. Place tofu in a bowl along with the salt, pepper, marjoram, garlic powder and olive oil. Shake to coat tofu. Place the tofu on a baking sheet and bake for about 15 minutes, until the tofu is firm.

Cook the pasta according to the directions. Drain and keep warm.

In a medium bowl, stir together the broth, water, soy sauce, cornstarch and red pepper. Stir in peanut butter and set aside.

In a large skillet heat the oil over medium-high heat. Add onion, garlic and gingerroot to hot oil; stir-fry for 2-3 minutes until onion is crisp-tender. Remove onion mix from skillet.

Add the sauce to the skillet, stirring until the peanut butter has dissolved into the sauce. Continue cooking and stirring until thickened and bubbly. Remove tofu from the oven and add to the sauce. Cook and stir for 2 minutes more. Return onion mixture to the skillet; stir all ingredients together.

Add the pasta to the skillet.

We like to have more sauce than pasta, so I didn’t actually use the entire pound of pasta, it was more like 3/4 of the pound.

The verdict . . . . . mediocre. My family would disagree. DH ate a ton, and all three babes asked for more, even though they complained about it being a bit to spicy. I wanted it to have a stronger peanut flavor, and it seemed to be missing something. I don’t know, I’ll probably make it again since everyone else loved it. Not really a fav with me, though.

And finally, dessert. Triple Berry summer buttermilk bundt from the blog smitten kitchen. I’ll skip to the verdict, and then tell you what I changed. Uh, delicious! Super moist. Loved it!

I added chocolate chips because, well, why wouldn’t you add chocolate chips? I think I only added 1/3-1/2 a bag, so not a ton, just enough to be noticeable. The glaze was a total flop, but that was totally on me. A) I used margarine instead of butter. B) I didn’t have enough powdered sugar so it was quite lime-y (didn’t have any lemons). See the little clumps on top of the cake? That’s the margarine that didn’t get mixed in very well. I wonder if I would have had enough sugar if the margarine would have mixed in a bit better.

In any case, I’ll definitely be making it again!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

