Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 254 – August 27

It seems like I go in spurts. Nothing for a few days, and then in one day I learn/try a ton of new things. Today is no exception. So, let’s get started.

This morning at Meijer’s, I found some zucchini in the clearance section. I got 4 or 5 for about 88 cents. They needed to be used up today, so I tried out this braised zucchini recipe. After making this I realized that unless you cook veggies until they are limp, it’s pretty hard to mess them up and they turn out quite good most of the time. The zucchini was so very yummy! Not really something the kids loved . . I think it was the cooked tomatoes that got them. But, it was a very easy recipe to make and I thought it was delicious!

During our weekly grocery trip to Meijer’s yesterday (yes, we go there several times a week), I happened to see the Pillsbury crescent rolls on sale. I remembered that there had been something on Pinterest I’d been wanting to try with that as the main ingredient, so I picked them up. This danish recipe from the blog Lauren’s latest was the one I’d been thinking of. The verdict? Well, DH asked if I had made the filling.

Me: Yeah. It was just cream cheese, sugar, vanilla, cinnamon and fruit.
DH: But what did you do to the fruit?
Me: Nothing, just dumped the blueberries on top of the cream cheese mixture.
DH: It was AH-MAY-ZING!

So, there you have it . . . .amazing! I’m going to experiment with the cream cheese filling, adding different spices and things to change it up a bit. I also plan on trying one with fruit and a bit of chocolate. I see lots of possibilities with this one! And it was very, very easy!

One thing I forgot to note. The topping required powdered sugar, which I forgot to buy this morning. I thought I’d try to make my own using a blender, 1 1/2 cups of sugar and 1 T of cornstarch. It was nothing at all like actual powdered sugar. Granted, I could have blended it longer to get rid of the graininess, but I wasn’t feeling all that patient. But it wasn’t just the graininess that bugged me, the flavor was strange. That was the ONE thing that I didn’t like about the danish. But, it’s a super easy fix, and now I know that DIY powdered sugar is a bust!

Dinner tonight was bean salad and cornbread. I tried out a new cornbread recipe and it was a complete winner. I was a bit skeptical at first because the batter was SOOOO runny! I thought, “This is NEVER going to cook!” But it was done in 30 minutes and it was very yummy. Sweet, but not too sweet, and moist. This is now my new favorite cornbread recipe!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

