Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 266 – September 8

Today was a biggie for learning and trying new things. I guess I was just in the mood to experiment in the kitchen.

Let’s start with breakfast. I hadn’t made pancakes for everyone in a long time, so I tried two recipes that I had pinned on my breakfast board: Cream Cheese Pancakes and Pumpkin pancakes with cinnamon syrup. I didn’t really care for the cream cheese pancakes, they were far too eggy for my liking. The babes, on the other hand, thought they were great. They were super easy to make, although I’m not sure I’ll be making them again.

The pumpkin pancakes, on the other hand, were lovely. I actually didn’t have pumpkin puree, so I whizzed up a can of yams that I had laying around. The allspice gave a nice flavor and the cinnamon syrup was a yummy addition. I’ll be making these alot this fall!

On to lunch!

Pasta is a staple around here, as is macaroni and cheese. I found this recipe for crock pot mac n’ cheese and figured it would be the perfect thing to leave cooking on Sabbath morning while at church. The idea was good, but the end result was a little bland. But I think a more gourmet cheese (gruyere, fontina, etc.), more salt, and a few seasonings would go a long way towards improving the flavor.

To accompany the entree, I made some green beans. I used this brussel sprouts recipe from the Smitten Kitchen blog and just substituted green beans. DH thought it was delish.

The babes were a little less enthused about the dijon, but they ate it, because they REALLY wanted a chance at dessert, which was meringues.

The recipe is pinned here and was ostensibly supposed to use both dark and white chocolate chips. Sadly, I only had white chocolate chips, but the meringues still turned out just fine. I will say that no way were they ready to be taken out of the oven after 35-40 minutes. I left them in for about 50 minutes, then turned the oven off and let them sit in the oven until we got back from church, 1.5 hours later.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

