Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 290 – October 3

I’m a little late getting this post up . . yesterday was a busy day, for some reason.

Anyway, dinner time rolled around and I just wasn’t all that motivated to cook. But I also didn’t feel like schlepping everyone out to a restaurant. So I opened all of the cupboards and the fridges and hoped for inspiration. AHA! Nachos! I had seen a recipe in my Vegetarian cookbook, so I thought I’d try it out. Really, I use the term recipe quite loosely with this endeavor. I mean, it’s nachos . . .melted cheese, chips, beans, toppings . . . . not that hard. The one thing that I did differently this time was to cook the nachos in the oven.

Here’s what I did. I sauteed some onion, then added a can of refried beans and a can of black beans. I made up individual plates with some beans topped with some colby jack cheese. The plates all went into a 350 degree oven for about 10 minutes, until the cheese was good and melted. Then, I just added the toppings: sour cream, tomatoes, green chiles, cilantro and black bean and corn salsa. I arranged the chips around each of the little mounds and we were ready to eat.

I think I like putting them in the oven better than doing it in the microwave. I also liked adding the chips last rather than having them as the base layer. I’ll definitely be doing this again!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 290 – October 3

  1. It was very yummy!!!!!!!!!

  2. Looks easy and delicious.

Leave a Reply

