Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 299 – October 12

Today, I spent a bit of time getting the sweets ready for DD’s birthday party on Sunday. I made a Double Coconut Cake that I hadn’t made in about 10 years . . . I think it’s going to be yummy! I also made the frosting for the cupcakes. Holy cow, this frosting is going to be amazing! 3 cups of butter, 6 cups of powdered sugar . . .need I say more? I actually used real butter as opposed to margarine since it’s a buttercream frosting, and not a margarinecream frosting. It was a thing of beauty to see the butter get nice and creamed after about 5 minutes in the stand mixer.

The recipe only called for 1/2 a cup of strawberries, which really didn’t make the frosting very pink. We didn’t have any red food coloring, so DD chose blue . . . . the flavor isn’t affected, but the color sure looks cool! Now I just need to make the cupcakes to put under the frosting. But frankly, it doesn’t really matter what the cupcakes taste like, the frosting is delish just on it’s own. Now, if you are on a diet, this is not the frosting for you. When DS1 saw me making it, he said, “Whoa! That’s ALOT of butter! That is definitely NOT healthy!” Even the 5yo recognized the absurdity of 3 cups of butter, but he also was won over to the merits of that amount of butter once he tasted the frosting!

I can’t wait to see how everything comes together with the cupcakes tomorrow! I’ll post pics once the whole ensemble is put together. (Oh, forgot to mention that the recipe came from Krissy’s Creations and you can find it here.)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

