Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 315 – October 28

I”ve been trying to get this post done for two days now. . . . something always seems to come up! On Sunday, I tried out a new macaroni and cheese recipe out of my vegetarian cookbook. The recipe called for bleu cheese. I have no idea why I went ahead and used the bleu cheese since it’s a known fact that I don’t like it. I think I was maybe 8 or 10 the first time I tried it and I remember thinking, “Yuck! This is terrible!” I guess maybe I thought 25+ years would change my tastes? Anyway, I made the recipe, and thought it would be interesting due to the sliced tomatoes, the bleu cheese, the fontina cheese and the nuts on top. Besides, it called for ALOT of cheese. For one big casserole dish, it called for 8 oz of chedder, 4.5 oz of blue cheese, and 9 oz of red leicester cheese (I couldn’t find that kind of cheese, which is why I used fontina). That’s over 5 cups of cheese! Heart attack here I come!

So, the verdict. I definitely shouldn’t have used the bleu cheese . . . yuck! The toddler is the only one that ate it without complaining. . . .everyone else either politely pushed it off to the side of their plate (that was DH) or commented, “what’s that funny tasting blue stuff?”. Also, the sliced tomatoes on top were just weird. I don’t particularly care for cooked fresh tomatoes, so not sure why I put them in. Following a recipe for once in my life, I guess! Even when you removed the tomato, the macaroni that had been under the tomato was tainted. So, not really a winner in my book. I think I’ll stick to my tried and true recipe from now on!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

