Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 343 – November 16

My lessons for today were babywearing lessons. I consider myself a very experienced babywearer, having spent most days of the past 5 years wearing someone and having used seemingly every carrier type known to man. I really didn’t think there was anything else to learn. I was wrong.

On the website The Babywearer, there’s a wrapping forum and in that forum, we do carry of the week (COTW), where a carry or a group of carries are focused on for the week. The goal is to learn about new carries and help each other out. It’s how I learned to be a good wrapper. I think I started “playing” along in the 5th COTW, and it’s now on version 13. This week it’s front cross carry (FCC) and front double hammock (FDH). FCC has never been a favorite carry. In theory, it’s a poppable carry, meaning you tie the wrap onto yourself, and you can pop the baby in and out without having to do any untying or retying. It was always a disaster for me and I just didn’t really care for it. For some reason, today, it clicked. I was using a super narrow (15 inches) DIY wrap. The little boss was fussy and so I grabbed the closest wrap and decided to try out FCC. Amazingly, it worked really well, it was comfortable and I wasn’t stuggling to get everything adjusted. I think the secret was the narrowness of the wrap. Generally, the wraps I use are between 24 and 30 inches wide. As you can imagine, that’s ALOT of fabric for a newborn, they tend to get lost in it. The 15 inch wrap was much more manageable. I even tried it with another woven wrap and just folded the whole thing in half . . . again, success. Who knew??!! So this is going to be my go-to carry for running errands. And, it will be easy to tandem wear. I can tie on the wrap, get the toddler on my back, and then pop the little boss in. Voila! Hooray for learning!

The second lesson was a less happy lesson, but good to know, none-the-less. We have ALOT of mei tais at our house. I’m always trying new little variations and tweaks. This time, I decided to try a hybrid ring sling waist. This means that one side has a long waist strap, and the other side has a pair of ring slings that the long strap gets threaded into. In my brain, I thought this would be a great way to have easy adjustment, and I wouldn’t end up with a knot in my back. Alas, such was not the case. The fabric does not adjust easily at all. I think it’s because of the angle that I’m pulling, it just doesn’t work. And, the ring feel weird on my side, and I can’t seem to get it as tight as I would like. This translates into a less supportive carrier. Eh, oh well. I’ll be unpicking the waistband and either adding buckles or adding another strap. You can’t win them all, I guess!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Day 343 – November 16

  1. The blue one looks comfortable.

Leave a Reply

