Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 345 – November 18

So far in this dairy/soy free endeavor, I’ve been using coconut milk and a coconut beverage in place of cow’s milk. It’s tastes okay, but is so expensive! Soo, in an attempt to not bankrupt us, I decided to learn about different milks. Today it was rice milk. It’s so super easy to make, time-intensive, but easy.

Add 1/2 cup of brown rice to 8 cups of water and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer, cover and cook for 3 hours, stirring occasionally. You’ll end up with mush-looking stuff. Fill half of your blender with the mush and the other half with water. Blend until very smooth, then run through a fine mesh strainer how ever many times you need to in order to filter out the small bits of grain. And . . . .that’s it! Easy, right?

Now, about the flavor. I’m not going to lie, it’s not delicious by any stretch. But honestly, I’m not sure that cow’s milk is delicious, either. I drink it because I always have and am used to the flavor. I’m guessing one could get used to rice milk pretty easily. I tried adding some honey and vanilla, but that didn’t really help. Of course, I was drinking it warm, so I wonder if it will taste better after it has sat in the fridge for awhile. In any case, I have about 3/4 of a gallon that I’ll be using on my cereal and in recipes this week.

I’m also planning on trying to make oat milk and flax seed milk. Once I find a winner, I’ll make a ton, and then freeze it.

The other thing I discovered today is that coconut milk makes your bread behave in a weird fashion. I substituted regular milk for coconut milk and the texture of the dough was, well, it was just weird. I’m expecting the bread to be chewy based on the dough texture. . . . . Fast forward a few hours, the bread is only okay. It wasn’t chewy, but the flavor was just bizarre. I can definitely say that I won’t be using coconut milk in this recipe again.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

