Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 347 – November 20

Today was a soup and bread kind of day. I decided to try out this orzo soup from the blog The Family Kitchen. I grabbed my newly made vegetable broth and set to work. I followed the recipe pretty closely, but did make a few changes. Here’s what I did:

1 large onion, chopped
4 garlic cloves, crushed
1 small turnip, shredded
20 oz frozen spinach, partially defrosted
1 15oz can diced tomates, undrained
2 quarts vegetable broth
1.5 quarts water
1 1b orzo pasta

Sautee the onion, garlic and turnips. Add the spinach, tomatoes, broth and water . . bring to a boil. Add the orzo, reduce heat to medium and cook for 10-12 minutes until pasta is tender.

When I tasted it at this point, it was highly unremarkable. I’d even go so far as to say it was bland. I added some salt and pepper and hoped for the best. DH thought it was delicious. Me, not so much. It was decent, (still needed more salt) but not yummy. It was edible (as my mom likes to say) when paired with bread and butter. We have a TON left over. The recipe makes roughly a gallon of soup, which is alot, even for a big family like ours. This means that we’ll have a fair amount of leftovers. Bring on the bread and butter, I guess!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

