Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 348 & 349 – November 21 & 22

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone! As you can imagine, all of my learning for the past two days has revolved around food . . .food that is dairy and soy free. I sort of wondered how Thanksgiving was going to work out without dairy, but it turned out really quite well.

On Wednesday I tried my hand at making gluten steaks. I used this recipe courtesy of my friend Melisa.

Home-Made Gluten Steaks
1 1/2 cups gluten flour
1 1/2 Tablespoons flour (I use Millet flour)
1 1/2 cups water (cold works best)
Put gluten flour and regular flour in bowl, then add water. Mix together well, I get into it with my hands. Set aside for 1/2 hour. Take gluten out of bowl and slice and shape into cutlets. Drop sliced gluten pieces into boiling broth (below). Simmer for one hour (it works if only 45 minutes). A double recipe makes about 35 patties.

Broth to cook patties in
5 cups water
3 T Chicken like seasoning or beef like seasoning*
1/2 cup onion chopped
1 Tablespoon celery salt or 1/2 cup celery chopped with 1/2 tsp salt
1 Tablespoon vegex or savorex (not sure where you might find these, I get it at health food store or ABC)

I added about 3T of nutritional yeast instead of the vegex. Once the gluten was cooked, I made a roux with the broth (2T coconut oil, 3T flour, leftover broth) and seasoned it with cardamom, garlic powder and ginger. The gluten itself turned out quite chewy and blandish. DH thought it was delish, I’m wanting to experiment some more with the type of gluten flour, and also with adding spices to the gluten itself. The sauce was decent, I think I’m not a fan of cardamom, though. But, the big victory is that I now know how to make gluten, which apparently is one of DH’s favorite food. So, hooray for that!

My mom likes to bring random recipes and leave them in my recipe box. I found a recipe for baked sweet potatoes with apples and raisins and thought “Why not?” It was bascially sweet taters, granny smith apples, raisins and a sauce of cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice mixed with apple cider and molasses. It was decent, if not a bit dry. I don’t think it will become a Thanksgiving staple, but it was pretty good.

One of my staple desserts is a pumpkin chocolate chip bundt cake, whose recipe I found on the blog The Mother Huddle about 3 years ago. It is crazy good, but I didn’t know how it would work out with coconut oil instead of regular vegetable oil. Well, it was still crazy good . . woot! I tried to make a fake whipped cream out of coconut milk. I had opened a can a few days ago and the rest was sitting in the fridge, so it thickened up. I whipped it for a long time in the Kitchen Aid mixer . . . . nothing and it tasted terrible. I added some powdered sugar and cream of tartar . . still nothing. It thickened up nicely after being in the fridge overnight, but I can’t say that the flavor was all that great.

All in all, we still had a yummy Thanksgiving feast, I ate way too much, we have plenty of food left over and I have a few new food items to add to my list of dairy-free soy-free foods.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

