Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 332 – November 28

My foray into non-dairy milks continues. Today I tried almond milk. I was a little reticent to try this because of my weird nut allergy. But since rice milk wasn’t my favorite, I threw caution to the wind and made a half gallon of almond milk. I’ll cut to the chase . . .it was waaayyyy better than the rice milk, yummy, even. And, it was easier to make than the rice milk.

Take one cup of raw almonds, cover then with water, then stick it in the fridge for a day or two. Drain off the water, dump the almonds plus 4 cups of water and any flavorings (vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, chocolate, whatever) into a blender and blend away until you have a frothy mix. Strain the mixture through cheese cloth, making sure to squeeze out the extra liquid. Save the almond pulp to make something else. (I’ll be trying out a few things with this tomorrow.) Refrigerate and enjoy within 3-5 days.

I drank the milk plain, with oatmeal and used it to make some bread . . . . all were winners. I think this is a keeper. I have yet to figure out how expensive this will be. 2 cups of almonds made a half gallon, and I think it was about $2 or maybe $2.50. So more expensive than cow’s milk and rice milk. Next, I’ll be trying flax seed milk. Stay tuned.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 332 – November 28

  1. Claudine on said:

    I went bulk and purchased 50 lbs of almonds from justalmonds.com. Often there is a way to get a discount by calling them or getting on to their facebook page. I’d then sell up to 25 lbs to friends as I don’t have a bulk freezer. Keeping them refrigerated or frozen preserves their goodness.

    Love using the almond pith, as I call it, in baked goodies. Not that I can do baked goodies these days. Good luck with your trials, may you come out with some yummy successes!

  2. Aldi sells 1/2 gallon of almond milk for $2.49 here. My DH and I love it too!

Leave a Reply

