Learning each and every day

My quest to edify myself a bit every day

Day 346 – December 12

Over the past few days, I’ve been learning about flat panel TV’s. The last time I bought a TV was back in 2001, so our TV was old. Someone gave us a gift certificate to buy a new TV. Apparently she thought our old TV was a piece of junk and we needed to update it. That struck me as rude, especially since our old TV was perfectly functional. But, whatever. If she wants to throw a wad of cash our way to buy a new TV, then we’ll indulge.

So I learned that LED TV’s don’t really exist. They are basically the same old LCD TV’s that use LED’s to create the light as opposed to the CCFL’s that traditional LCD’s use. Funny, because you pay more for the LED. I didn’t buy an LED . . . I didn’t like the crazy brightness and the colors seemed unnatural to me.

I also learned that it can be tricky to hook up an old DVD player to an HDTV, but it’s only tricky if you don’t know what you are doing. So the HDTV that we got has the red and white audio inputs, but not the yellow video input. So clearly, the red, white and yellow cable wouldn’t work. I tried using the component cable (red, green and blue) along with the audio cable (red, white), but that totally didn’t work. I was resigned to the fact that I’d have to buy a new DVD player. Resigned, that is, until I went into Best Buy and talked with one of the salesmen. Turns out that my red, white and yellow cable would work just fine. I could just plug the yellow video cable into the green component slot on the TV. Then he showed me how to set the TV up so that everything would work. Voila! Needless to say, I was pretty pleased that I didn’t have to fork over the money for a new DVD player!

I’m still not convinced that the HDTV is better than our old one. But, I have until mid-January to decide whether or not I want to return the TV.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

